a collection of befuddlements

ds_proflayton.jpg
yoinked from nintendoworldreport.

One of the games I’ve been really getting into these days is Professor Layton and the Curious Village on the DS, a mystery adventure in which you advance through the story by solving little IQ puzzles throughout the game.

I’m not really much of a brainteaser nut, but what is so compelling about the game is that there’s just so much effort put into it – from its little animated shorts to the beautifully illustrated western-style settings, so very reminiscent of Hayao Miyazaki’s films. It’s so gorgeous! So gorgeous!

The puzzles are pretty clever – many are arithmetic questions which, at first glance, look like they need a lot of calculation, but then it turns out that the answers can be achieved through simple logical thinking. So far, I haven’t had too much trouble with them, but this particular puzzle was a real stumper for me.

The Camera & The Case

While walking through a market on vacation, you notice a small stand selling cameras. A camera-and-case-set is selling for $310. The seller tells you that the camera costs $300 more than the case itself and that the case costs the price of the set minus the cost of the camera.

You decide that you’d rather wait on buying a camera and opt to just buy the case alone. You hand the seller a $100 bill and see his eyes light up. Think fast now! How much change should you be getting back?

Can YUH get ze answer? It isn’t $90, by the way!

It’s $95. (highlight for the answer)

There’s a slight play of words in the puzzle. If you skimmed through the description, it seems that the Cost of the Camera is just $300 extra than the Cost of the Case, which makes it logical that the Case would cost $10, thus your change would be $90.

But the real meaning here is that the Cost of the Camera = $300 + Cost of Case. Das mean, Camera = >$300.

From here, I got the answer by

Case= y, Camera = $300+y

y = $310 – ($300 + y)
($300 + y) + y = $310
$300 + 2y = $310
2y = $10
y = $5

$100 – $5 = $95 QED!

Here’re the parts which I don’t get though.

1) Erico sez no need to do all those algebra to get answer.

2) I still don’t get how the description actually means Cost of the Camera = $300 + Cost of Case. As far as I can understand from it, Camera = $300 no matter how I read it.

Oh dear!

2 Comments»

  articlesnatch.com wrote @

Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog thus i came to “return the favor”.
I

am attempting to find things to enhance my website!
I suppose its ok to use some

of your ideas!!

  www.rosyclouds.org.tw wrote @

Normally I do not read post on blogs, but I wish
to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do it!

Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, quite nice article.


Leave a Reply

