i am not a robot

So today was the TULAN-est day ever, for a number of reasons.

#1: Rotten Deadlines
Yesterday I was abruptly assigned to put together a wedding video montage for a producer o’ mine whose wedding is at the end of the month – a motion graphicky, pop-up book-like animation (one of the references I was given was this.) A little intimidating, but looks fun nevertheless.

Today I find out the deadline to complete it – 2 days. Minus half the day it took to get the materials and details – 1 1/2 days. To finish a montage, which looks like this, lasting 3 minutes at least, on my own. Non-negotiable.

This just cheeses me off to no end. Obviously, the deadline has been given with little regard to the fact that the person designing the montage has to sleep and eat. The wedding has been in planning for nearly a year now, why was this montage only requested just over a week before the wedding date? And why, oh why, are amazing results expected after 1 1/2 days? Yes, of course we all want the montage to look fantastic. And personally, I feel honoured to be able to contribute to an absolutely sacred event for the newlyweds, so I want to come up with something nice. Rubbish deadlines ≠ something nice.

#2: The Disobliging Colleague
The creative supervisor, seeing that I was juggling the montage with another design job, asked another colleague to lend a hand, and he claimed he was busy with another project. Having shifted attention away from himself, the bugger twiddles with his drawing tablet, then leans back and takes a nap.

#3: Bad Meal
I came home late from work, decided to cook up a sausage omelette because I missed dinner earlier, and burnt omelette while checking on the montage on computer. (My fault, but I was ticked off anyway.)

Besides having to work throughout tonight and tomorrow night, I’d say yes, everything else has been just fine so far.

3 Comments»

  Danny Foo wrote @

Poor baby. Oops, maner eric-chai to comfort you. 😛

Anyway, I wonder if I know her. If I did, I guess I’ll apologize on her behalf since things have been hectic and if I told you all the hoo-ha this wedding really is, I’m scared to get married. LOL!

So when your turn. 😛

  chii wrote @

The mystery! 😉 It was the powers that be who set the schedule, not her – I was mostly peeved because I thought they’d be more understanding about the amount of work this involves. Was exhausted and cranky at the time of writing, so banyak ber-emo, haha!

Anyways, last night I reasoned once again with the creative supervisor about the impossibility of meeting the deadline, so an extension is in consideration. Crossing fingers and hoping it comes through..

So will see you at ze big event then 😉

  Ivan wrote @

fugsmerly only!


Leave a Reply

